Minutes of the Annual Meeting of Adur District Council

17 May 2018

Queen Elizabeth II Room Shoreham Centre, Pond Road, Shoreham-by-Sea

*Councillor Peter Metcalfe, Chairman Councillor Joss Loader, Vice-Chairman

Councillor Carol Albury Councillor Lee Cowen Councillor Carson Albury Councillor Angus Dunn Councillor Catherine Arnold Councillor Emma Evans Councillor Les Alden Councillor Paul Graysmark Councillor David Balfe Councillor Liz Haywood Councillor George Barton Councillor Paul Mansfield Councillor Pat Beresford Councillor Andy McGregor Councillor Brian Boggis Councillor Barry Mear Councillor Kevin Boram Councillor Robin Monk Councillor Lavinia O'Connor Councillor Ann Bridges Councillor Clive Burghard Councillor Neil Parkin Councillor Stephen Chipp Councillor David Simmons Councillor Dave Collins Councillor Sami Zeglam *Councillor Brian Coomber

* = Absent

Vice-Chairman in the Chair

C/001/18-19 Apologies for absence

No Apologies for absence had been received.

The Monitoring Officer in the Chair.

C/002/18-19 Election of the Chairman

The Monitoring Officer informed Council that one nomination had been received for the forthcoming year. Council Neil Parkin seconded by Councillor Angus Dunn nominated Councillor Joss Loader.

No further nominations were received.

On a vote there were For 26, Against 0, Abstention 1

Resolved that Councillor Joss Loader be elected as Chairman of the Council until the Annual Meeting of the Council in 2019.

Councillor Joss Loader made her Declaration of Acceptance of Office and took the Chair.

The Chairman that those present for the honour to be elected as Chairman of the Council, the first Independent Chairman since Liza McKinney 15 years ago. Rather than choose a number of Charities the Chairman announced that she would encourage a Community Defibrillator Appeal particularly in memory of her late father Brian Hollebone who had died from a sudden and catastrophic heart attack, aged just 49.

C/003/18-19 Appointment of the Vice Chairman

Councillor Carson Albury, seconded by Councillor Boggis nominated Councillor George Barton for the ss Loader to be appointed the Vice Chairman of the Council for the forthcoming year.

No further nomination were received.

On a vote there were For 27, Against 0, Abstention 0

Resolved that Councillor George Barton be appointed as Vice-Chairman of the Council until the Annual Meeting of the Council in 2019.

Councillor Barton made his Declaration of Acceptance of Office.

C/004/18-19 Returning officer's return of persons elected

Council noted the Returning Officer's return of persons elected in the District Elections on 3 May 2018. Copies had been circulated.

C/005/18-19 Declarations of Interest

There were no declarations of interest declared.

C/006/18-19 Confirmation of Minutes

Resolved that the minutes of the meeting held on 26 April 2018 be approved as a correct record and be signed by the Chairman.

C/007/18-19 Vote of thanks to outgoing chairman and presentation of past chairman's Insignia

Councillor Metcalfe was not present at the meeting.

C/008/18-19 Items Raised Under Urgency Provisions

The Chairman informed the Council that there were no matters of urgency to be considered.

C/009/18-19 Announcements by the Chairman and / or Head of Paid Service

The Chairman announced that Adur and Worthing Councils had be commended in the Municipal Journal Awards for Digital Transformation. The Councils demonstrated that a bold, enterprise-wide digital platform strategy is possible to both develop and deliver in a

district council setting. The approach shows the benefits of technology in improving services, increasing flexibility and gaining control while exceeding a £200k savings target each year.

The Chairman presented a framed Certificate to Paul Brewer, the Director for Digital.

There were no announcements from the Chief Executive.

C/010/18-19 Appointment of Leader

Councillor Dunn, seconded by Councillor Evans proposed Councillor Neil Parkin for the position of Leader of the Council to the annual meeting after the end of Councillor Parkin's term of office as Councillor (May 2022).

There were no other nominations.

On a vote there were For 27, Against 0, Abstention 0

Resolved that Councillor Parkin be elected as Leader of the Council to the Annual Meeting of the Council following the end of his term of office in May 2022.

C/011/18-19 Announcements by the Leader

The Leader announced that his Cabinet membership was unchanged however he announced the following policy advisors:

To the Leader Portfolio - Councillors Boram and Beresford

To the Resources Portfolio - Councillor Boram

To the Regeneration Portfolio - Councillor Beresford

To Customer Services - Councillor Chipp

To the Health and Wellbeing Portfolio - Councillors Barton and McGregor

To Environment - Councillor Carol Albury

Resolved that the Executive Membership and Policy Advisors be noted.

C/012/18-19 Making decisions in 2018/19

Before the Council was a joint report by the Director for Communities and the Solicitor to the Council , copies of which had been distributed to all Members and a copy of which is attached to the signed copy of these minutes as item 12. An amended Annex B had been circulated

The report asked Council to note the political balance on the Council, agree some constitutional matters required to be considered at the Annual Meeting and approve the appointments to the committees and chairmanships for the coming year. The names nominated for the committee seats were the wishes of the various groups on the Council. An updated Annex B had been circulated and is attached to the minutes.

The Leader proposed the recommendations with Councillor Graysmark seonding.

There was no discussion on the item.

On a vote For 27, Against 0, Abstain 0.

Resolved that

- (i) the Council noted the decision making structure of the Council and the political balance of the Council as per paragraphs 3.1 and 3.2 of the report.
- (ii) the Council confirmed the Terms of Reference of the Council, Executive, Committees and Sub-Committees as outlined in Part 3 of the Constitution including those relating to Joint Committee Agreements.
- (iii) the Council confirmed the political groups, the number and proportion of seats as set out in Annex A (a) to the report.
- (iv) the Council appointed to the Committees in accordance with the wishes of the Political Groups on the Council detailed in the amended Annex B.
- (v) the Chairman and Vice-Chairman of Committees indicated on the amended Annex B be appointed until the Annual Meeting of the Council in 2019.
- (vi) the Council noted the Group Leaders and Deputy Leaders as confirmed to the Proper Officer as listed on the amended Annex B.
- (vii) Under Council Procedure Rule 39, Council appointed the Leader of the Labour Group on the Council as the Leader of the Main Opposition.

The Chairman declared the meeting closed at 7.20pm, it having commenced at 7.00pm.

Chairman